RSS

Board games (storage and clear out)

11 Aug

As mentioned several times already, in 2014 I went through a crazy buying spree of board games. Although the number of my plays has also increased i still can’t keep up.

I had been meaning to have some wall shelves installed for some time now and the recent spree only made it more urgent. This is now currently my main setup for board games storage.

2014-08-09 08.24.36

The plan was to get rid of the small bookcase but it does not look like it’s happening soon as I don’t want to over load the wall shelves.

2014-08-09 08.24.50

 

My most recent purchase is the expansion to Eldritch Horror, which i have already played 6 times (5 base game plus 1 with the expansion) so i consider that as a “sensible” purchase. Also i’m still waiting for delivery of 4 Kickstarter games later this year (below).

KICKSTARTER GAMES

Coup Reformation, Septikon: Uranium Wars, Two Rooms and a Boom, Steam Donkey.

I definitely need to put a stop to more acquisitions possibly for at least the remaining of the year. However, If i say that i won’t buy anything i don’t think it will be realistic. Nemo’s War (2nd Edition) is a game i already have in mind but i think it’s not coming out in 2014 anyway.

So i’d say i can buy just 1 more game this year and i will also try and clear out a few games.

At this point in time i have around 20 or so games I haven’t played. I’d like to play at least half of the un-played games i already own.

GAMES TO SELL OR GIVE AWAY

These are the games which either i have already made up mind i want to get rid of or i’m thinking about it.


  • Risk (sell/give away)
    I had sold this to a friend a year ago but he returned it to me to give it away as he was not going to play it after all. Unless anyone else wants to keep it i think i will donate it to the Workshop where we hold our Cyprus Board gamers meetings.
  • Madeira (sell)
    I got 2 copies of this game in the last EU Maths Trade so i need to get rid of one.
  • Bohnanza (sell)
    I bought this last year, opened it but never played it. I should never have bought it in the first place since it’s not a game i want to try or play.
  • Bears (sell)
    A cute little game but i got bored with it.
  • Zombie Dice + Expansion (sell)
    Same as with Bears.
  • Puerto Rico (sell)
    This is a good game but i rarely have fun playing it. It’s very strange because it ticks almost all the boxes for what i consider to be a good game. Good decisions, interactive and plays within a reasonable amount of time. However, apart from the fact that i don’t like as much as i would like almost everyone else in my group owns a copy so i can afford not to have it in my collection.
  • Chinatown (Undecided)
    I have only played this once and I want to play this more and decide. I don’t have any other game similar to this but it seems to be a a difficult game to get to the table.
  • Splendor (Undecided)
    This is a game that has already seen a lot of plays considering how recently i bought it. It’s very easy to teach, quick to play and has wonderful components. Yet, it has not clicked with me for some reason. Maybe it’s the engine building aspect which is one of my least favourite aspects in games. Also a friend of mine owns a copy so once again, it’s not a game i feel i need to have in the collection.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 11, 2014 in Board games

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
