RSS

Exercise (setback)

02 Jan

My right knee (which together with my right ankle have been the more problematic due to the arthritis) has been in a bad shape for the last couple of weeks. I can’t exercise at all as i’m in pain whatever i do.

Walking helps but anything else just generates more pain. Also i’d like something with more intensity. Swimming looks like my best option. Definitely requires more commitment and a higher budger but i’m willing to sacrifice other things to give it a good try. I spend money on things i really don’t need anyway. My annual leave ends this week so will leave the “research” (already have an idea) for next week. This will give my knee some more time to get some rest.

10 years ago i would continue to exercise ithrough the pain. 4 years ago this situation of not being able to exercise would have left me in despair. Now i’m just looking to rest my knee and look for alternatives. It took me years to get my s*** together and put up a fight. Never again. There are always options out there. Just need to find them.

 

Tags: , ,

4 responses to “Exercise (setback)

  1. Haris Kassapis

    January 2, 2014 at 21:21

    Hillwalking? Maxeras, stavrovouni, kakopetria, ayia marina ksiliatu, etc.

     
    • Costas Taliadoros

      January 2, 2014 at 22:40

      Ela re! Inclines are a bit difficult for me although i would try them. Especially at beautiful locations like the ones you mention.

       
  2. jameswharris

    January 6, 2014 at 06:16

    Living with pain is an art. You have to listen to the body. Sometimes mind can overcome matter, and sometimes it can’t. So it goes. I’ve had to give up gluten for stomach reasons, but giving up gluten has really helped my joint pain. Evidently the gluten was causing a lot of inflammation. I have been reading that giving up gluten can help with arthritis, so you might give it a try. Just a suggestion.

     
    • Costas Taliadoros

      January 6, 2014 at 12:28

      We’ve had a lot of public holidays these past two weeks and a lot of dinner/lunch gatherings. I’ve been eating more red meat that i would have liked. Same goes for alcohol. It will go back to normal this week. I agree that nutrition plays a part. However, i’ve also learned that even though you can go without practically anything, once you put your mind to it, it also helps to “sin” every once in a while. Keeps me sane personally 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
