RSS

Essen 2013

29 Oct

I’m writing this on Wednesday, morning 23 October 2013. I’m sitting at my home desktop, drinking my coffee with a plan to visit M&S bakery later for breakfast. Mmmmmmmmm…..

However, by the time this has been published i will be back in Cyprus from Germany. In fact i will also be back at the office. My plane lands at 00:45 Tuesday morning and i have to be at work that day because we have a Human Resources assessment from the UK. It was my fault…

The good news though is that i will be returning from Essen. The Mecca of board games. The biggest board games exhibition in the world which is from 24 to 27 of October. I’m going with a friend and we are flying through Vienna and Dusseldorf and then finally to Essen by car or train.

It’s the first time that i’m traveling somewhere and spending most (basically all) of my time at a single location.

The schedule goes something like this.

Wake up
Breakfast
Travel to Exhibition Halls which open at 10:00
Leave the exhibition around 18:00 or 19:00
Grab a bite
Head back to the hotel for a shower and some rest
Then down to the ground floor of the hotel to play board games with other hotel residents

That basically sums it up. What i expect these days to be like.

I’ve already made my list of board games to check out, downloaded quite a few rulebooks (64 actually) and also left as much space as possible in my bag (half empty). I’m not planning to buy games but i have to be realistic. I will buy a few. It’s inevitable.

And that’s what’s making this trip so fantastic. A friend of mine went to Florida and to the Disney theme parks. This is something that i don’t find appealing at all.

However, i do understand the feeling. It’s the feeling of being 10 years old again and i’m loving it!

See you on Tuesday!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 29, 2013 in Board games, Travel

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
