RSS

Movie of the week – What Maisie Knew

02 Aug

I love movies which leave a lot of room for the viewer to imagine what a character’s thoughts are. In this case, Maisie’s.

Based on the Henry James novella, the story frames on 7-year-old Maisie, caught in a custody battle between her mother – a rock and roll icon – and her father. What Maisie Knew is an evocative portrayal of the chaos of adult life seen entirely from a child’s point of view.

What Maisie Knew

 
 

Tags: , , ,

3 responses to “Movie of the week – What Maisie Knew

  1. Paula @ Find a girl who reads

    August 2, 2013 at 16:12

    I didn’t know there was a movie adaptation of this book. Plus, it looks like a good movie. I’ll add it to my to-watch list! 🙂

     
    • Costas Taliadoros

      August 2, 2013 at 17:49

      For me it’s the other way around!

      It would be interesting to see how the book is written and especially what it tells you about Maisie’s thinking if it says anything at all.

      Added to my to-read list! 🙂

       
      • Paula @ Find a girl who reads

        August 3, 2013 at 03:31

        I remember starting to read the book and thinking it was brilliantly written (as everything from Henry James) but I never got to the end of it… I got distracted by another book, then another one and then I completely forgot about it. I’ll have to add it to my to-read list too! 🙂

         

Leave a Reply

 
