RSS

Nintendo 3DS

27 Jun

2013-06-21 17.52.10

On Friday, i succumbed to my “wants” and went out and bought a Nintendo 3DS. It was and is a guilty purchase since i’m not that into gaming anymore so i don’t know how much value i will get out of it and also it does not feel like the best of times to be spending money on hand helds.

But in the end i got it from Public, together with basically the game that sold the 3DS to me, Fire Emblem: The Awakening. It’s a strategy RPG. Very japanese. Very otaku. Very geeky. And I’m loving in.

I’ve put it a total of around 14-15hrs into it but only progressed around 7hrs. The first 2-3hrs i started on a level that was way too easy and decided to restart. The remaining hours were spent on failed missions.

The battery does not seem to last that long, maybe due to the relatively high 3D setting i have it on which is actually not a bad thing. This keeps me more in control with how much time i spent on it at a time. Because when playing games, time just flies by without noticing it.

It feels like a flash from the past, but not quite. I’m enjoying this immensely and all the stuff that come with it i.e. reading reviews, previews, news, checking out bargains and all the twitter talk. But it definitely does not have the same aura around it. At least not the way it used to. Now i want to split my time on other things and more evenly.

For the time being I’m having a blast with it.

Virion: “Die with magnificence!”

 
5 Comments

Posted by on June 27, 2013 in Video games

 

Tags: , ,

5 responses to “Nintendo 3DS

  1. catstronaut

    June 28, 2013 at 16:00

    Ugh, so jealous. I have the normal 3DS, and it’s so weird to hold in your hands, and has all sorts of weird switches and these really gross start and select buttons. And I’ve been meaning to get Fire Emblem forever, but keep putting it off :\ Right now I’m playing Animal Crossing, which is… why is this game so good? It’s exactly the sort of game I hate. But I love Animal Crossing, and it’s the sort of game that you start up every day just to see how things are going, and whether or not you stay for 3 hours is wholly dependent on how you feel.

     
    • Costas Taliadoros

      June 28, 2013 at 16:39

      I got lucky.

      I was going to buy the regular 3DS but a twitter buddy insisted on the XL. After seeing both on show i’ve got to say the XL makes more sense and it’s still portable enough to carry around.

      I was debating whether i should get AC or LM2 or Mario Land as a 2nd game but could not make up my mind and i decided to just get FE. You are right. AC does not seem like a good game and yet so many seem to enjoy a lot. It’s definitely on my buy list.

      Fire Emblem is class. Top game. If you like SRPGS you will love this game.

       
      • catstronaut

        June 28, 2013 at 16:43

        Animal Crossing is great, and 3D Land is easily the best 3D Mario, imo. Luigi’s Mansion looks great, too. The 3DS really does have a stellar library.

         
  2. Walters

    July 8, 2013 at 09:04

    Glad that you’re enjoying Awakening 😀 I just hope you’re listening to Anna when she tells you to take a break.

     
    • Costas Taliadoros

      July 17, 2013 at 12:15

      Apologies for the late reply.

      I have not had the chance to play for the past couple of weeks. I’m hoping that today i will be able to put in a a couple of hours!

       

Leave a Reply

 
