RSS

New Year’s Resolutions (1)

12 Nov

It’s not the end of the calendar year. I know.  But for certain things it is. Take my New Year’s Resolutions for example. These have always (always=last 5 years) been decided and set in September. Maybe it’s a remnant from the school and university days but I think it’s a more appropriate time of year to take these decisions.  In fact, I do this process during my vacations which for various reasons I’ve only managed to take in November this year.

Let’s start with a recap of last year’s resolutions which admittedly were a mixed bag.  I was successful in the easier ones while failed in the more important and challenging resolutions.

LAST YEAR’S RESOLUTIONS

Shopping – This was an almost perfect score. I’ve considerably reduced my spending on things like books, board games, clothes, video games, dvds, cds, gadgets etc. Also my subscriptions are now down to four magazines and newspapers. I will reduce these even further this year. I am spending more time enjoying and appreciating what I already have, instead of continuously looking around and buying. As far as shopping is concerned I can say I am very happy with the results. Achievement unlocked.

Blogging – I am also quite happy with how the blogging went and frankly I am surprised. I did not expect that I would do it in such regular fashion. There were times when there was simply nothing to write about and other times when I was just too distracted to bother. But still the posts were published one way or another. In the form of quotes either from movies or books. As recommendations of articles I read and of media entertainment I enjoyed. Finally, of course, the more personal posts. The quality of the writing has been mediocre. Although that was never the point I do wish there was more improvement. Regardless, like I’ve already said, I am happy with how it went and again I consider it to have been a success. Achievement unlocked.

Health – I wish I could say I was happy about this one but I am not. It was in fact the most important resolution and probably the one I failed the most. Of course, health is not always under our control but to the extent that it was I did not do all I could have done until late in the year.  Especially with regards to my mental health, as I’ve been driving myself to crazy for the most part of the year. It was not a completely negative year however as I have been pro-active in getting treatment with Biologic medication, getting an arthroscopic operation and more. Borderline FAIL.

Exercise With exercise however it was a complete failure. I can come up with a thousand excuses of why this and why that but it’s because I did not try hard enough. I had some setbacks but I was easily put off. There are so many things I can do, even with my arthritis, and I only tried 2-3. I should have persevered.  FAIL.

Health and exercise will be on next year’s resolutions. More on that later.

Volunteer – Here again is another fail. I made some enquiries but they were half-hearted at best. I just told people I was interested in some volunteer work and hoped for some calls back. There is not a lot I can write about this but this one also will be on next year’s resolutions. FAIL.

Travel – This was a different kind of fail. It was a fail with a promise. Apart from the 3 days at 3 Elies there was nothing else. However, this year (i.e. after September) started well. I spent my vacations in Larnaca again but this time made some solo travelling. A tourist in Cyprus. I visited Kourion (the highlight), Chirokitia, Stravrovouni, the Medieval Castle and St. Lazarus church amongst other places. This may sound like nothing to most people but for me it was huge. I’ve never be able to do solo traveling and I am hoping this year will be different. Again this one stays on next year’s resolutions. FAIL but with a promise.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on November 12, 2012 in Antidote, New Year's Resolutions

 

Tags:

2 responses to “New Year’s Resolutions (1)

  1. Martin Eriksson (@ErikssonCyprus)

    November 13, 2012 at 09:52

    well next year Travel will be a huge success.. Essen Spieltag here we come!!! 😀

     

Leave a Reply

 
