RSS

Today feels too much like yesterday

05 Nov

I need. No. I want to add some variety in my life. Today seems too similar to yesterday all too often these days. In this struggle against the sameness of life and also my fear of trying out new things I’ve been looking for inspiration. I think i may have found it in Matt Cutts and his “Try something new for 30 days” TED talk which you can watch here.

“The next 30 days are going to pass whether you like it or not, so why not think about something you have always wanted to try and give it a shot for the next 30 days?”

I have a few ideas already. Some of them will remain just ideas in my head. But others can be pursued further. Included in this list are self-discipline challenges i.e. depriving myself of something. However, this comes relatively easy to me. I would prefer to get out of my comfort zone AND do something positive in the process. Ideally, something creative or a community contribution. Whatever the case, i am good with anything that will lift my spirits up. At the end of the day all i am looking for are ideas which will encourage me to see life in a different light and allow some experimentation with everyday life.

“It doesn’t need to be anything huge, either. Something small is easily sustainable, and can still help make your time more memorable, and even help you learn a thing or two about yourself”

Below are the ideas I’ve come up with myself and also found on other blogs. I am looking for more so i am open to suggestions!

Try Something New for 30 Days – Ideas

  • Write a novel
  • Design a board game
  • Don’t eat meat
  • Teach something new to someone every day
  • Have a conversation every day with someone i rarely speak to
  • No news
  • Learn a language as much as possible
  • No sending txts
  • No TV
  • Make a list of things i am thankful for. 1/day.
  • Make a list of things i am proud of. 1/day
  • Meditate for 10-20 mins/day
  • No social media
  • Read a short story every day
  • No smartphone
  • Go left handed
  • No caffeine
  • Listen to a random/new song. 1/day.
  • Read a random blog post every day.
  • Take a picture every day.
  • No complaining.
  • Learn as much as possible about a specific subject/event/person etc
  • 30-45 mins walk every day
  • Swimming every day
 
 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “Today feels too much like yesterday

  1. vakis

    November 7, 2012 at 13:28

    playing board game everyday 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
