RSS

Not enjoying a book? What do you do?

16 Oct

1. Stop reading – Not enjoyable? Next! Too many good books out there while time is precious.

2. Critical point – I always read until a certain point and then decide.

3. Finisher – I prefer to finish my books. I feel a sense of guilt not to.

I am more of a 3 myself but i feel like i am wasting my time lately whereas i could be doing something else. Reading a book should not be the end itself but a means to an end. Lately I am also placing a higher value on my free time.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on October 16, 2012 in Books

 

Tags:

8 responses to “Not enjoying a book? What do you do?

  1. Stephanie

    October 16, 2012 at 19:56

    I keep reading until it’s absolutely unbearable. 🙂 So I’m mostly a #3, too. I usually finish, even when I don’t want to. It’s only on truly exceptional occasions that I stop completely!

     
    • Costas Taliadoros

      October 16, 2012 at 20:24

      I was at the “unbearable” point around halfway through the book. Now I’ve already read 500pgs with around 120 left…. I feel it’s a bit masochistic but like you i still rarely don’t finish books.

       
  2. radicalhope

    October 16, 2012 at 20:13

    Definitely 1, but it’s always disappointing because I do want to like the book.

     
    • Costas Taliadoros

      October 16, 2012 at 20:28

      Always hated the idea of 1. As a matter of principle, hope and discipline but recently i am not so sure…. There are so many books out there that this “perseverance” sometimes just feels like i am just being stubborn and wasteful with my time.

       
  3. onikitas

    October 22, 2012 at 15:46

    Number 3 myself!

     
  4. Martin Eriksson (@ErikssonCyprus)

    October 30, 2012 at 08:40

    I used to be die hard 3.. I would read it no matter how painful it was… but since i got my sony e-reader back in 2007 I have come to the realization that my free time matters much to me, and it is fairly limited and hence very precious. I have one purpose with reading novels, to be entertained. On that primes, if it is not catching and enticing my imagination within the first 50 pages I just move to the next book, no regret, no guilt. There are sooo many books out there and I’m not going to waste my time on something that is not good enough! 🙂

    I’ve even started doing the same when it comes to movies, which for me maybe some 6-7 years ago would be unheard off, I would throw a fit at the mere idea of abandoning a movie half way through but now days.. i’m like.. “pfft NEXXT”

     
    • Costas Taliadoros

      October 30, 2012 at 08:58

      I think when we are younger we see not finishing a book more like it is a failure on our part. As if our pride and character are at stake. Achievement or not giving up has a greater weight than time and enjoyment. Whereas when growing older we just don’t have this self-confidence issue so much and our time has a bigger say in our decision.

      The main thing that bothers me with giving up on a book is that i always feel that my opinion might have changed if i had only stuck to it. It happened to me this year with The Black Dahlia. I thought it was an ok book until around halfway through when i realised that it was excellent instead. I am not sure why exactly and It wasn’t because a of plot point but things became clear to me. What the book was trying to accomplish. That’s what i am always afraid when deciding whether or not to give up on a book.

       

Leave a Reply

 
