RSS

Re-reading books

08 Oct

Thoughts

  • Does the opinion of the book change?
  • Why did it (not) change?
  • Was the original verdict determined on an emotional connection with the book at the time?
  • So, it depends on the state of mind at that particular point in time?
  • Does it depend on the situation/world one was in at the time the book was read?
  • What is the significance of a change of opinion?
  • Does it matter?
  • How will re-reading it in a short space of time instead of years after affect opinion the 2nd time?
  • Is the person reading the book in 2012 the same as in 2004 when the book was first read?
  • Why was the book re-read?
  • To confirm the existing impression, memory and verdict?
  • To explore the book on a deeper level?
  • Is the reaction to the book what is sought after or more knowledge of the book itself?
  • Does the fact that there are no more surprises in terms of story or examination of the book matter?
  • Did one see, react and think at the time of the first read the things he is seeing now but just forgot that he did?
 
2 Comments

Posted by on October 8, 2012 in Books

 

Tags:

2 responses to “Re-reading books

  1. jameswharris

    October 8, 2012 at 23:54

    Costas, this is intellectual territory I love. My first bout of major science fiction reading was between the ages 12-19, back in the 1960s and early 1970s. Then in 2002 I joined Audible.com and started buying audiobooks I had first read as a teen, but listening to them in my fifties. The contrast between then and now was great. There were books I loved then, but can’t even read now, like The Foundation series. And other books I couldn’t read then, but love now, like Charles Dickens. Then there are books I loved then and still love, like the Heinlein juveniles. Why and how did I change?

    There are damn few books I’ve reread in the same decade. Two are Replay by Ken Grimwood and The Life of Pi by Yann Martel. I wish I had more time to reread books. Now when I reread a book it’s because I want to get more out of it, or because a movie version is coming out. I listened to Cloud Atlas when it came out, and I just bought a copy to reread before the movie.

     
    • Costas Taliadoros

      October 10, 2012 at 15:51

      Hehehe, I can certainly relate to the ” books i loved then, but can’t even read now”. When i was a teenager i was a big Tom Clancy and Dan Brown. There is no way i could read these now…

      I also read Jules Verne and Dumas a lot but have not attempted to re-read them so i am curious to try.

      It’s fascinating to re-read books which i am discovering now. If only to examine yourself while doing it. Life of Pi is one book i’d love to re-read at some point as well.

       

Leave a Reply

 
