RSS

Going through changes

02 Jul

As i am writing this on Sunday morning, 1 July 2012, only a few hours remain until the EURO 2012 final between Spain and Italy. I’ve enjoyed it even if the knock-out stage proved to be a bit of a disappointment. Overall it’s been an interesting tournament.

In one way in particular, surprisingly so. As i look back to these past 3 weeks i feel that i’ve invested more time in it than i actually wanted. Watching the matches sometimes felt forced. There were times that i’d rather had spent my time doing something else, even sleeping. But because that’s how i’ve always spent my time during a EURO or a World Cup toutnament i forced myself to go through with it.

Football is one of my lifelong interests which i feel that even defines me in some respects. I was afraid that accepting that i lost even the slightest interest in it would say something about me. That i’ve changed and that change, of itself, would mean something bad about me.

My interests and preferences always were, and still are, some of the most important constants in my life. The fact that i always knew what i enjoyed and how i wanted to enjoy my available leisure time in life gave me confidence. It calmed me. I was also proud of this consistency and certainty. I still am, because i respect consistency in ideals, opinions, and especially in the actions people take. Too much fluidity and flexibility from people makes me nervous. Makes it difficult to trust people.

But now i am not only finding it increasingly acceptable that people do change but also reasonable to do so. There could be a number of reasons for this.

Priorities in life change or the environment we live in may change. It is impossible and maybe stubbornly foolish to refuse change when one lives in an environment that keeps changing. Especially when this refusal is for the sake of consistency. Consistency should be a means to an end and not an end in itself.

Obligations change. Either to one’s wife and children, to friends or to ageing parents. As an adult more is and should be expected. I enjoyed my teenage life a lot but i still prefer being an adult and all that comes with it.

Our interests change. Sometimes people are forced to adapt to having less time available but sometimes also because tastes simply change. It just happens. We should not stick to what we’ve always done because we are afraid of uncertainty or change. Maybe it’s just time to find something else. Something new.

Even physical endurance changes. Getting up early and staying up late on more than the occasional event will take its toll and its adverse effects will spill over to work, family and importantly to health.

I notice now, as i am re-reading this post, that halfway through it i switched from the “I”, to the “Our” and to the “We” and to generalising. I am not going to edit it because i find it funny that even now, within this post, i am trying to resist change.

The point is that at the end of the day people may change and it does not necessarily have to be a bad thing.

 
 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

 
