RSS

Time investment Vs Reward

04 Jun

I have always been associated with videogames. Even now that i’ve basically not played a game in 1.5-2 years people keep asking me what game i am playing or whether i’ve read a review on a particular game they are interested in. It boggles people’s minds that i can possibly be out of the videogames entertainment. But that’s how it is at the moment.

Why?

One reason is the time investment vs reward.

I have come to be considerably more demanding with how i want to spent my time in terms of being “entertained”. I prefer the memorable to the time wasting. For every Braid, Demon’s Souls and Deadly Premonitions there are 10-20 other games i spent 100hrs of hours playing that i simply thought as merely average and completely forgetable.

On the other hand simply looking at the movies i’ve watched just in 2012 and how memorable, thought provoking they were makes me feel satisfied at the manner i’ve spent my time even when the movie was not good or simply average. Perfect films, much like videogames are of course rare. A Separation is the only one so far this year which felt that way. But looking at the others that have come close (Intouchables, The Kid With A Bike, Once Upon A Time In Anatolia, 50/50 i.e. my four*) and the time invested (say 2hrs average for each movie) in them makes me feel that it was a worthwhile investment in memories and debates on how life can be lived and not something to just get me through the day.

 

Tags: , ,

4 responses to “Time investment Vs Reward

  1. jameswharris

    June 5, 2012 at 20:06

    I used to rate entertainment by dollars per hours of fun. So $10 will get you 2 hours of movie fun, or maybe 15 hours of book reading fun, or 30 minutes of fast food fun, or 1 hour of trying out a bad CD, or maybe a lifetime of listening for a great CD.

     
  2. Costas Taliadoros

    June 5, 2012 at 20:41

    You said “used to”. How do you rate it now?

     
    • jameswharris

      June 6, 2012 at 20:20

      I make more money now, so I don’t worry about money as much, but time instead. But then I’m older, and I don’t spend as much time and money on entertainment. When I first started work in 1967 I made $1.40 an hour. In my twenties that went up to maybe $7.00 a hour. Money and time was hard to come by, so I rated entertain by buck/hour. Of course, everything was cheaper back then.

      Today I rate by time. I don’t have much free time, or at least as much as I want. If I spend 2 hours on a movie it’s got to be a very good movie. I hate wasting an afternoon on a mediocre flick.

      I used to spend $150-200 a month on buying music (CDs, not MP3s). Now I pay Rdio $9.99 a month and I get more than I can ever listen to, and it’s all legal. That’s a bargain.

      I used to pay $120 a month for cable. Now I spend $19 for Netflix and get more than I can ever watch. It’s all about finding the time.

       
      • Costas Taliadoros

        June 6, 2012 at 20:41

        I was fortunate enough that money was not an issue once i started working. So time was the most important factor. I used to spend 70% of my time on video games. That’s one of the problem with video games. They are very time consuming compared to other forms of entertainment and people who are passionate about them don’t find the time for anything else. That became a problem for me in the past 3-4 years.

        And I agree that with a reasonable amount of money you can get access to all sorts of entertainment now be it books, games, movies or music. It’s all about having the time.

         

Leave a Reply

 
