RSS

10 lessons i learned while ripping my CD collection

16 Mar

A few weeks ago i started a mini project.

Rip my CD collection to a hard drive and make a back up

This is what i’ve learned.

  1. Too many CDs – Yeap, a few hundred cds and most of them i rarely listen to anymore. Impulse buys or change in taste? Probably a little bit of both.
  2. Not enough CDs – It’s basically lesson No.1 but turned on its head. I listened to some albums far too many times mostly because i didn’t have that much choice in the first place.
  3. What was i thinking?!– Bon Jovi? Ace of Base? Boyz 2 Men? Hanging my head in shame….

    I must have been very drunk when i bought you

  4. Stuck in time – Around 70% of my CDs were bought between the ages of 15 to 25. I can’t really explain it to be honest. I think music lost some of its importance in my life after the teenage years. I also stopped exploring new music genres and artists. My music frontier was set at bands like REM and U2 for far too long.
  5. Empty cases and CDs M.I.A  – I am missing Disc 1 of U2 – The Best of 1980-1990. Savvorama by Dionysis Savvopoulos is missing both cds!

    Δεν ξεχνώ

    Δεν ξεχνώ

    Also i am missing KT Tunstall cd. But WHO IS KT TUNSTALL???!

  6. The Unremarkable Ones– Quite a few of these albums i even forgot i owned. Not only that but i can’t even remember the music. It’s as if i never listened to them.

    I am sorry but i don't remember you. At all...

  7. Albums i associate with books

    Χάρις Αλεξίου Δι' ευχών + Βίος και πολιτεία του Αλέξη Ζορμπά => I read this during my first undergraduate year in London (1998)

    Queen Greatest Hits II + Drizzt fantasy trilogy => I read this on Troodos mountain during my summer holidays (1992-4)

  8. Movie Soundtracks are shite– They sound a LOT better in the movie with some exceptions.

    Crap!

    I love you!

    I love you too!

  1. Expand – I want to expand my music knowledge and tastes.
  2. Ripping CDs to a hard drive is boring, obsolete and so 20th century

Johnny Cash Youtube Mix Playlist

 
3 Comments

Posted by on March 16, 2012 in Music

 

Tags: ,

3 responses to “10 lessons i learned while ripping my CD collection

  1. jameswharris

    March 16, 2012 at 14:42

    I also have that Ace of Base and wondered why when I was ripping my CDs. I also have the Gross Pointe Blank soundtrack.

    My experience was pretty much like yours. Way too many albums I don’t remember why I bought, way too many albums I just no longer cared about, and way too many albums I wasted my money on. I also had empty cases to deal with. I often put a CD in with another CD when I could couldn’t find the case thinking I’d find it later, but as I ripped them I found them all.

    Even now after I ripped all my CDs I seldom play the MP3 versions. It’s just so much easier to listen to subscription music.

     
  2. jameswharris

    March 16, 2012 at 16:16

    Oh, and you’re right about soundtracks sounding better in the movie theater.

     
  3. costastaliadoros

    March 19, 2012 at 09:06

    Hi Jim,

    Yeah, although now i’ve rediscovered a few albums/artists i had forgot about or maybe just did not enjoy that much at the time, i am also more likely to put an internet radio station on from than choose something i own. That’s in spite of more than trebling the number of albums available in HDD my library.

    I think i am more in the mood to listen to new (to me) songs/artists and i enjoy the possibility of something fantastic i’ve never listen to before.

     

Leave a Reply

 
