RSS

Who’s your daddy?

13 Mar

“A slang expression that, in one use, takes the form of a rhetorical question. It is commonly used as a boastful claim of dominance over the intended listener.”

I had plans. I had big plans last weekend to write a few articles, which would be scheduled for publication over the next couple of weeks.

However, something got in the way. I ran into an old friend of mine. Giapanta Zolos. My alter ego. GZ is the name I go by in the Football Manager PC videogame series. A game which I had not played since its 2008 iteration. Although I had bought FM2009, my laptop graphics card kept overheating and it shut itself down. So we drifted apart for a few years.

In January though, I purchased an all-in-one Lenovo PC (and very happy with it so far I might add) and gave it a go. It worked. No problems whatsoever. I said to myself that there was no need to buy the latest version in the series. Let’s get my money’s worth out of the 2009 version first and then see how it goes from there.

Of course it was not meant to be.

I was at the Stephanis store two weeks ago to get something for my dad and I saw FM2012 for EUR40-45. “What a bargain…” Honestly, videogames prices in Cyprus can still be ridiculous.

However, three rows down I saw FM2011 standing there for EUR15. “Oh no… Ok, don’t panic. Let’s think about this rationally.” I said to myself. “Is it worth getting FM2011? I mean, let’s at least see how it reviewed.”

Hand in pocket. Iphone out. Unlock the damn thing. Tap the Eurogamer app.

Tap the search space. Write Football Manager 2011 review. Tap GO!

Click on the review link.

Scroll down the review to read the score (that’s what we all do!).

“Oh shit….Oh shit…..9/10…”

“I will read the conclusion also. Maybe it won’t be as convincing.”

“The sum of FM 2011’s parts is the most organic but more importantly, most believable man- and team-management experience the series has provided. Don’t be expecting perfection, because you won’t find it – but even if you own last year’s version you should seriously consider investing in this follow-up, a recommendation I certainly don’t make every year. And if you’ve been holding off purchasing a Football Manager game for the last few years, then this is the year to get back in the game.”

I was already starting the car engine by the time I’d finished that last sentence and a small, yellow, nylon Stephanis bag was sitting pretty on the passenger’s seat. Staring at me. On the way home I could swear it was speaking to me. Same thing, over and over again.

“Who’s your daddy?”

Giapanta Zolos is currently (and randomly) managing Stade Lavallois Mayenne Football Club , aka Les Tangos, somewhere in (French) Ligue 2.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 13, 2012 in Video games

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
